Thread: Negative Stigma Regarding Knife Collecting?

1. Default Negative Stigma Regarding Knife Collecting?

This is a question I am curious about. Do anti second amendment proponents view knife collectors the same way they view gun collectors? The reason I ask is because I'm applying to MBA school and the admissions advisors tell us to make sure our personality/hobbies are highlighted during the application process. I'd like to note that I am a knife collector on the interests section of my resume but I'm afraid it will rub someone from the admissions panel the wrong way. As far as other hobbies go I like to work out, play sports, and do other very common activities so it doesn't really set me apart. Collecting knives is much more of a niche hobby and I'd like to set myself apart but it might be risky.

I've owned guns for a while but I'm relatively new to knife collecting. I had thought that gun collecting was more frowned upon than knife collecting in certain circles. However, a couple of my colleagues at work have given me a hard time about collecting knives. I guess showing them pics of my dogface and interrogator were not the best examples to use when introducing them to my hobby

What do ya'll think about my resume dilemma...should I put it on there or err on the side of caution?

Default Managers

Alex, I'll give you my opinion and please remember it is an opinion: An individuals personal life should be just that. Personal. In my line of work an aggressive/risk taking behavior is acceptable for the field engineers. As a matter of fact two of my best (out of 35) are pretty rough characters, but good engineers. A MBA heads you straight to an office/managers job of some sort. You will find people are much more conservative in that situation and are very careful about who they let enter the club. Keep your cards close to your chest and only play them when you are comfortable not when you feel like gambling. Ed B